Learn the five ways to say I love you to your partner.

In his book “The 5 Love Languages,” Gary Chapman, Ph.D—author, speaker, and counselor—defines five different types of love languages that people use to express and receive love. In this blog, we’ll discuss each of these unique love languages.

Love language #1: Words of Affirmation

This love language is for people who value verbal acknowledgments of affection. They perceive words of encouragement, appreciation, and validation as expressions of love. If your partner likes to receive compliments and constantly needs verbal reassurance from you, this is most likely their love language. 

How to speak it: Give your partner or significant other a little verbal love by telling them how wonderful they are. You can also let them know how much they mean to you by saying things like: “I love the way you care about me.” or “I appreciate the little things that you do for me.” Say these words to your partner and watch their face light up. Or send a notecard with these messages to make their day. 

Check out our selection of notecards HERE! You can add a personal note, and our team will print your card. Each order comes with one coral or pearl envelope.

Love language #2: Quality Time

People who speak this love language are all about spending meaningful time with others. If your partner thinks that the time you spend together (talking, engaging in activities, or just hanging out) is the highlight of your relationship, then this might be their love language. 

How to speak it: You could cook a meal together, or work together on a project in your house. You could also take a day off from your routine and do something fun. This is a great way to break up the monotony of everyday life, and it can be even more enjoyable if you get to spend it as a couple. 

Planning a date night at home? Make it extra special with good food, music, and our aromatic Teacup Candle Set. Each set comes in a unique scent combination with premium fragrance oils from France.



Love language #3: Gifts

The love language of Gifts is not about how extravagant or expensive the present is—it’s really the thought that counts here. If this is your S.O.’s love language, they feel validated whenever you spend money and/or time picking something out for them. 

How to speak it: Spend some time picking out a token of love for your partner. It can be something small like a gift card for their favourite coffee shop, or a thoughtful text, or it could be a larger gesture like an anniversary party or a special trip.   

Speaking of gifts, the Love Box is extended until the end of February. Make sure to get it before it’s too late!  


Love language #4: Acts of Service

People with this love language appreciate it when people help them, and they enjoy helping others as well. You can tell if this is your partner’s love language if they like helping you with your tasks and feel loved in return when you assist them with their responsibilities. Keep in mind that Acts of Service don’t have to be grand sweeping gestures. Instead, it’s the little extra things that show you care.

How to speak it: Offer to do chores for your partner. This may mean picking up their favourite snacks from the store or driving them to their next appointment. Whatever you do, if it’s done with love and kindness, it is an act of service.

Love language #5: Physical Touch

People with this love language like to give and receive love through touch, physical closeness, and other forms of physical connection. Even small physical gestures, such as holding hands or randomly putting your arms around each other, matter to those who speak the love language of Physical Touch. 

How to speak it: Show your partner how much you care by holding their hand, kissing them, or giving them random hugs. You could also offer a massage at the end of a long day,  or snuggle in close while watching a movie.

Now that you know the five love languages, it’s time to apply them in your relationship. If you don’t know your partner’s love language, ask them what makes them feel most loved and appreciated. Knowing their love language will allow you to understand them better and be more intentional in showing them how much you love and care for them.